A Weekday in the Life of Meg, Rob, & Hazel

We haven’t done a whole lot of new adventures recently, so we thought it might be fun for you to know what we do in a regular day!

A Day in the Life of Meg:

IMG_7709

5:30– I don’t have to get up early today because classes don’t start for me until 14:00… however, a certain Dog prefers to get up around this time for a trip outside and some breakfast. So, I help her with that and then lay back down to sleep in =)

10:00– Hazel and I go for a run! I let her run off the leash because she usually stays near me. But, we meet 4 people and 2 dogs (a Chihuahua and a Border Collie) about 0.5 mile into our run and I decide she better be on the leash. The Border Collie was rather aggressive and got in Hazel’s face– teeth barred– but, Hazel was unconcerned and wanted to run. On we ran for 2 miles.

10:30– Rob and I chatted about the upcoming day and decided to take the same bus down to the valley.

12:00– Rob and I walk to the bus stop to catch right bus down. There has been construction in our area recently that has changed the time schedule for the buses, but they seem to be running on time today. So, we walk down the hill to the next stop because it is a beautiful, Spring day! The air smells sweet with blooms and cut grass…ahhhhh!

12:35– I get on the Regiobahn to Reutlingen. I always have to arrive 45 minutes early for my classes in Reutlingen because the trains don’t run often enough. Either 45 minutes early or late.

13:15– I plan for my class at 14:00. I pre-write a “grocery list” so my student can practice sections of the grocery store.

14:00– My student arrives– he is a man that is about my dad’s age and runs his own lumber/lumber machinery business. We haven’t met for 2 weeks and we usually meet 3 times a week! So, there is a lot to catch up on. We spend nearly the entire lesson talking about Easter, recent storms, and diseases affecting the Ash trees in Germany. He teaches me a few new German horticulture words (Laupholz= deciduous, Coniferen= conifer) and I teach him a few English horticulture words. We fit the end of a chapter into the last 30 minutes of the lesson somehow =)

15:48– I catch the Regiobahn back to Stuttgart for my Monday night class.

16:38– Arrive in Stuttgart.

16:45– Arrive at Berlitz and start planning the night class material.

18:30– Monday night class begins. We (also) haven’t seen each other for 2 weeks, so we spend some time talking about Easter and catching up. We talk mostly on topic (Negotiations) except for a few diversions about social hot topics in Germany (unemployment and the welfare system…pretty much the same things that are semi-hot topics in America).

20:53– I hop on the train back to Esslingen.

21:30– I finally get home and relax with Rob and Hazel =)

A Day in the Life of Rob:

IMG_7706

9:00– I got up late with Meg. While Meg makes breakfast and coffee, I catch up on emails and news.

10:00– I washed the morning dishes and get the laundry started while Meg and Hazel go for a run.

11:00– Laundry is done with it’s “dry cycle” (clothes usually come out damp, but warm) so I hang them on the drying rack. Meg and I decided to go down to the valley together, so I start getting ready too.

12:00– Meg and I walk to the bus and share an apple with a worm hole in it. (I get around it like a champ) The buses are on time again, so we walk down to the other bus stop. Usually, we would go into the bakery to get a couple latte macchiatos or a croissant…but, we didn’t want to miss the bus, just in case it came earlier than expected.

12:30– I finally walked across the Neckar River for the 1st time! It’s nearly as big as the Des Moines River. The foot bridge has one of the old remaining towers on it from when the city used to have a wall around it.

Looking across the Neckar to our side.
Looking across the Neckar to our side.
The circle is the building where we had our first German BBQ last week.
The circle is the building where we had our first German BBQ last week.
The circle is approximately where our house is!
The circle is approximately where our house is!

12:45– I located the pet store where we get Hazel’s treats and dental sticks. The store is huge and has everything! I decided to get an extra treat for Hazel– an antler!

13:00– I cross back over the Neckar River to get to Rewe for groceries. Meg requested a few herbs, so I got her a Rosemary plant and a Chives plant. Groceries were the basics (milk, orange juice, cheese, etc) so it was a quick trip. That was rare, often the lines make your trip double in length.

14:00– I got home and put the groceries away and gave Hazel her treat! She was a happy dog! I hadn’t had breakfast or lunch yet, so I eat copious amounts of left-over stir fry, cornflakes, and a few lucky charms!

15:00– Dog Walk!

16:45– Found a dead bird on our porch. It has been dead for days, I think, because the smell is awful. I decided that someone is trying to send a message. Maybe our neighbors because Hazel likes to bark and chase the neighbor dog through the fence. I send Meg a picture and tell her my theory. (It’s not a real theory, just a joke)

Dead bird.
Dead bird.

17:00– I walked to the recycling bins at the end of our street and recycle our glass. The bins are absolutely full and people have started piling the glass bottles outside of the bins. I jammed my glass in the bins because there is still a little bit of room– some people were just too lazy to do that.

Recycling bins are FULL.
Recycling bins are FULL.

17:30 and on– I checked my steps counter and found that I had walked 11,358 steps! Goal Achieved. I washed the day’s dishes and started more laundry. Hazel has been a “Hazel-log” for nearly 3 hours, I check to make sure she is still alive at Meg’s request. “YOU KILLED THE PUPPINS?!?!” She said.

18:30– I took some time to re-string the D-string on my violin and played it with the mute on.

A Day in the Life of Hazel:

IMG_7721

MORNING. I WOKE UP ON TIME. MOM AND DAD ARE STILL SLEEPING (ANNOYING). THEY PROBABLY WANTED ME TO WAKE THEM UP. MOM INSISTS I DO ALL OF MY OUTSIDE BUSINESS WHEN SHE GETS UP, BUT THERE ARE SO MANY SMELLS IN THE GRASS THIS MORNING. SHE (FINALLY) FEEDS ME.

MORNING MORE: MOM AND I GO FOR A RUN. A CAR COMES OUT OF NOWHERE AND SCARES ME. I DECIDE I BETTER JUST GO HOME AND WAIT FOR MOM…BUT SHE INSISTS WE KEEP GOING. I LIKE RUNS, SO I AGREE… RELUCTANTLY. THEN A DOG YELLS IN MY FACE, I DIDN’T UNDERSTAND THE SCHWABIAN DIALECT SO WE JUST KEPT RUNNING. MOM NEVER SPEEDS UP WITH ME ON THE WAY HOME…UGH! BUT WE STILL MADE GOOD TIME.

MORNING MORE AND SOME MIDDLE DAY: NAP.

MIDDLE DAY: DAD BROUGHT ME A NEW BONE! I AM THE PROUD NEW OWNER OF A BONE!

LATE MIDDLE DAY: NAP

LATE MIDDLE DAY: DAD FORCED ME TO GO ON ANOTHER WALK. WE WENT ON THE SAME PATH MOM TOOK ME ON BEFORE. HOW BORING. THE WAY HOME WAS STRANGE AND DIFFERENT, BUT, ALAS, UNEVENTFUL.

LATE LATE MIDDLE DAY: WORKED ON MY PLANKING TECHNIQUE. DAD THINKS I’M A LOG. IT’S HILARIOUS.

LATE DAY: STILL LOGGIN IT UP. DAD HAS NO IDEA WHAT TO DO. DAD WONDERS IF I’M DEAD AND CHECKS TO BE SURE. TOTALLY MESSES UP MY PLANK.

DINNER!

NAP.

BED TIME.

And now you know! (Bill Nye, anyone?)

PROST!

Leave a Reply

