Lehrer Training, Hujambo!, Train Travels, and Laterne

This was a week of new adventures for Rob, Meg, & Hazel abroad!

After many flight delays/cancellations, Rob finally arrived in Germany on Monday! Rob will be guest-blogging in the very near future to tell you his story…I will leave that for him.

Hazel was very pleased to have Rob back, and I was happy to have a complete family again! To celebrate Rob coming to Germany, I promptly went to teacher training in Stuttgart the next morning…=)! But seriously, that started this week for me.

Lehrer (teacher) training began Tuesday. I didn’t know what to expect, but I had picked up my materials on Monday and had taken a glance at the contents. What I saw shocked and terrified me! I immediately started thinking I wasn’t cut out for this shit stuff. Luckily, the 8 day training is there for a reason. (Duh, Megan.)

The first day started with the usual– ice breakers, getting to know our fellow teachers in training (it’s a wide demographic… 20 year old to 50-somethings, graduate students to ex-graphic designers), and beginning to study the Berlitz method. Not to be a walking billboard or anything… but, after spending 4 days learning about the training, I can see how the Berlitz method works so well. In order to get to know my fellow instructors-in-training better, I left the lunch I packed in my backpack and went out for lunch. We went to a cool hamburger place that is named after a German fairytale (Hans im Glück) and is completely set up like a fairy tale. I opted for a plate of fries (that ended up being a huge bowl full of delicious fries!) and a fancy garlic sauce.

A pound of fries...literally!
A pound of fries…literally!
Hans im Glück looks like a forest!
Hans im Glück looks like a forest!

The days that followed were spent learning some Swahili, looking over the other aspects of a Berlitz lesson plan, and trying our hand at teaching.

So. Swahili. Wtf?? Well, our training instructor taught us some very simple Swahili in order to show us how a beginner Berlitz lesson would look! I learned how to say “hello”, “I am….” “I am from…” “What is your name?” “My name is….” “Where are you from?”…and I think I learned a few other things. That was fun and very insightful! I feel like I have learned quite a bit already and I’m very excited to do the next 4 days of training.

I have to say, though, after 4 days of being gone from about 8:45-18:15 and spending about an hour on public transportation daily….I was completely exhausted. But, on Friday, Rob and I had a breakfast at a bakery together and made a plan to meet downtown at the bar I have been frequenting.

NOM. Best way to start a Friday, EVER.
NOM. Best way to start a Friday, EVER.

After work on Friday, we met at the bar and our friend Fabi met us not too long after. He introduced us to a few of his old friends and we played a German card game! It was very much like a game I played as a kid with my grandparents (Blitz! for my family!). We had a few beers then we all decided to move on to another bar to play darts.

Rob got an expensive drink that one of the guys suggested… and it was dangerous! Rob will describe it in his blog post. They call it Laterne (means: Lantern). Don’t get me wrong, it was delicious…but it’s one of those dangerous drinks. I would definitely rank it up there with: cement mixer, mind eraser, pissed off japanese minnow farmer, etc.

I finally had some dark beers this week, the one on the left smelled like bread. NOM.

IMG_3434 IMG_3404

All in all, though, the night was very fun and we made a few more new friends. Maybe next time they will bring their girlfriends…for my sake!

Yesterday, we all went out as a family =) We rode the bus down to the Saturday morning market, grabbed some baked yummies, bought a block of cheese, and got some necessities at Müller (an affordable variety store). Then we all went to Starbucks (for a bathroom, really) and for a cup of (not so tasty, but good enough) coffee.

IMG_3426 IMG_3427

The moment we got home, Hazel crashed and we decided to walk up to Jägerhaus for a drink. Jägerhaus literally translates to “hunting lodge” and is a hotel/restaurant/biergarten at the top of our hill. We took the trail up and back. It was very refreshing to have a quick walk outside and then get into a warm bar (decorated like a hunting lodge, no less!) and have a big glass of delicious beer. Mmmmmm, nothing better in the world, I tell you!

The sunset as we walked to Jägerhaus.
The sunset as we walked to Jägerhaus.

So, Prost! Until next week =) (or until Rob writes a post)

Leave a Reply

