Trying to be productive…

Sometimes, places are only open for two hours on Fridays so you can’t get your address changed. Then, you have to keep your fingers crossed that a train ticket arrives in the mail so you have some where to go for Christmas (it did…I caught the mail man as he walked down the path…before he could turn around!). Hypothetically.

I wouldn’t let that dampen my productive attitude. I was on a mission. To get a different SIM card for my phone so I could use it cheaply over here. ALDI has a great plan where you can buy a certain amount of minutes and texts and a wee bit of data. I don’t really need the data since I just need a phone to get a hold of people around here. I use wireless internet for everything else. So, it’s good if you need something simple.

New SIM card in hand, I walked back to my bus stop. On the way I stopped at the local Italian grocery store…pretty sure this will come in handy later. It was pretty sparse, but it had genuine Italian grocery items in it and it was obviously for the people in the area. I will definitely be back. A few blocks more and I walked by a bakery (bäckerei) that had coffee, too! I was a little antsy for another latte macchiato, so I got that and some scrumptious pastry with poppy seeds on it. NOM. The Germans do bread and pastries very well.

Delicious pastry on the left, tasty latte macchiato on the right. All my coffee-loving friends, you need to: look this up, learn how to make it, or make someone else make it for you.
Delicious pastry on the left, tasty latte macchiato on the right. All my coffee-loving friends, you need to: look this up, learn how to make it, or make someone else make it for you.

I felt revitalized after my stop at the backerei. I recalled seeing two flower shops on the way to ALDI, so I decided to stop in both. Maybe I have a problem, but I really just like to look. Promise. So, these photos are for all of my floral shop people!

IMG_1073
So many pretties =)
IMG_1074
There was even a little greenhouse attached to the first floral shop!
IMG_1075
This is how all of the arrangements look here. They are usually not in permanent vases, you take them home wrapped. In fact, usually everything is made to order right there. Every one of these short, pre-made arrangements has a festive collar on it too!
IMG_1076
These were at the second floral shop. Those little shoots are fake…I think. But, the flowers…the flowers. They are real. But, I was having issues figuring these out– Anemones? Poppies? Cannot decide.
IMG_1077
SO. PRETTY.

At the second floral shop I decided our front door needed some festivity. So, I grabbed a piece of cypress evergreen and asked for help with some ribbon. Floral shop people– they measure a meter the same way we do– hand to nose! I commented on it to the gal and we had a little chuckle together. So, here is the outcome! I was happy to have a little creative crafty time!

It's a small swag, but it will do.
It’s a small swag, but it will do.
Detail.
Detail.
More detail. Those little balsa-wood ornaments are everywhere in the Christmas Markets.
More detail. Those little balsa-wood ornaments are everywhere in the Christmas Markets.

This morning started out as a lovely warm morning. It felt like spring, honestly. So, I grabbed a quick run and decided on hitting the farmers’ market. I got a late start on the run and soon the morning was getting away from me! Worried that I might miss the farmers’ market, I rushed out the door and luckily caught a rare Saturday bus! (Saturday buses don’t come as often as M-F buses….about every 30 minutes, instead of every 10 minutes) I scored some yummy produce from the market and meandered around the Weihnachtsmarkt.

The entrance to the Esslingen Weihnachtsmarkt.
The entrance to the Esslingen Weihnachtsmarkt.
I love those stars. They are so beautiful and festive all lit up!
I love those stars. They are so beautiful and festive all lit up!
Cute container decor at the Advent calendar building (that's what I'm calling it for now).
Cute container decor at the Advent calendar building (that’s what I’m calling it for now).
This street leads to and from the Middelaltermarkt (Middle Ages Market) section of the Weihnachtsmarkt.
This street leads to and from the Middelaltermarkt (Middle Ages Market) section of the Weihnachtsmarkt.
'Romanesco' Broccoli and some Kale. NOM.
‘Romanesco’ Broccoli and some Kale. NOM.
Hungarian yumminess-- literally translates to "chimney". Seems fitting. Mit zimt. (with cinnamon)
Hungarian yumminess– literally translates to “chimney”. Seems fitting. Mit zimt. (with cinnamon)

After wandering for some time, I decided that I should really get back and do my homework… I’m such a procrastinator. It’s due tomorrow night…Chicago time! Sooooo, there’s still time (because I only finished the reading and half of the assignment before starting this….). Anyway, I turn around to head out and what should I see but a WOOL YARN SHOPI nearly died right there! It’s so close! There are people sitting in there, knitting…and drinking wine!!!!! THESE ARE MY PEOPLE!!!! Okay, okay. I’m calmed down again. It’s so easy to get to… this will be very dangerous for my “check-book”, as it were. I held myself to one ball of beautiful wool. I cannot wait to start. After I finish this blog….I’m starting.

THE WOOL SHOP!!!
THE WOOL SHOP!!!
See how pretty? How could I pass this up?
See how pretty? How could I pass this up?

With my mini-shopping spree done with the wool shop, I actually do decide to head home. Arriving at the bus stop, I observe that I will have to wait 20 minutes for the next bus. It’s a great day– in the 50s– so, a walk it will be! It was refreshing and very hilly! Guys. So much hill. But, like I said, great walk and very refreshing! At least it didn’t rain this time! Good couple of days in Esslingen! That’s all I have for now. PROST!

So, I saw this cool vine today....maybe my horticulture friends will appreciate this like I did =)
So, I saw this cool vine today….maybe my horticulture friends will appreciate this like I did =)
Can you see how big this hill is?? I had to lose the scarf after this hill! And there was still another to come!
Can you see how big this hill is?? I had to lose the scarf after this hill! And there was still another to come!
Leave a Reply

